“Spirit of Place & Places of Spirit” – Ely Cathedral

On Friday night last week I had the great honour of presenting my lecture ‘The Spirit of Place & Places of Spirit’ in a setting that could not have been more appropriate: right under the Octagon of Ely Cathedral in front of the High Altar with an audience of over 200. This launched the series of prints of my paintings of Ely Cathedral. It was a sublime experience to be speaking about my work from inside the subject of one of my paintings.

Ely Cathedral – The Choir

“Ely Cathedral presents every challenge that a painter can encounter; not just light, perspective, colour & scale but its soaring majesty and awe-inspiring spirit. I am delighted that my work will go towards supporting the Cathedral so that its wonders may be experiences by future generations for years to come.”

I have given permission for limited signed prints to be made of my ‘Ely Series’ paintings which are available to buy in order to raise funds for the Ely Cathedral Trust. I am thrilled that my work can benefit the fabric, music and mission of this stunning Cathedral. http://www.elycathedral.org/history/watercolour.html

Ely Cathedral – Under The Octagon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alexander Creswell & The Dean of Ely Cathedral

About alexandercreswell

I am a watercolour painter and divide my time between beautiful architecture and fabulous yachts.
This entry was posted in art, Lectures, New Works. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

